Lore: Fabulous, Frightening, & Bloody Brilliant

If you’re looking to beat the heat this summer by unearthing spine-chilling, goosebump-inducing true stories, than Aaron Mahnke’s brilliant, superbly produced, richly researched, fabulously narrated podcast Lore is what Dr. Barb prescribes. Okay, I’m not a doctor, but seriously, you’ll hear me shiver and become inarticulate when trying to relay why you need to listen to this podcast today. I’m too much of a wimp to listen once the sun has gone down, but this afternoon, I’ll be eating another helping of what Mahnke’s dishing out. Click the image below to hear my review, and listen to Lore yourself here.

Screen Shot 2015-06-03 at 1.34.18 PM

Let me know what you think, and weigh in on your favorite episode, or send me the next podcast series I should devour. I’m taking off for a couple of days on an adventure with my kids, but will return on Monday with more musings, reviews, and ravings about all things mysterious.

P.S. I went on a bit of a tangent about how awesome Mahnke is and I never came back to the fact that I loved that he hasn’t read the Twilight series. Nor have I, Aaron Mahnke. Nor have I. My daughter has told me that the reason she has not read them is because they concern vampires who glitter in the sun. Is this true? Twilight lovers, is this fifth grade watercooler hogwash?

P.P.S. Mahnke lives in historic Boston, not Western Mass. I got confused. This happens frequently. You can check out his website here.

P.P.S. I almost deleted the moment when I say “holla” twice and then attempted to turn it into a verb, but I have no pride people. None. Plus, I was caught up in the moment of imagining my family out east hearing me “Holla!” at them.

Leave a Reply

