Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made (But Not in the Book)

I have two children. I love them both dearly, but try as I might my older child (who is 9 so by no means is old) does not seem to want to share my love for mysteries. I may still have some time, but he would much rather read Pokemon or Diary of a Wimpy Kid or Captain Underpants or even Harry Potter. I have tried to get him to see the beauty in the mystery, but he just doesn’t want to do it. I was at my favorite store the other week (Target) and while I was looking at books I saw Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made and thought that maybe this would be a move in the right direction. And, it worked!

imgres

Timmy is eleven years old and he is absolutely hilarious. His detective skills are quite amusing. He believed that he is the CEO of the best detective agency in town. His partner is a large polar bear named Total who dreams of eating seals. imgresHe believes Total Failure Inc. will make him so rich his mom won’t need to worry about paying the bills, and he has an arch enemy who’s name he will not use who owns a “rival” detective agency.

In the first book, Timmy must solve the cases such as who ate the candy, who stole his mother’s Segway, and also deal with annoying people who think he needs to go to school and actually learn things. Little do they know the greatness of Timmy.images

The Timmy Failure series is a must read for your preteen if they love humor like my son. I always find the mixture of drawing and text a great way to connect to my son (and I enjoy it as well) and with Pearls Before Swine cartoonist Stephan Pastis as the author behind the series, it makes the images and text work well together and help continue the narrative. We see Timmy’s distinctive scarf and there is of course a map of their apartment (and I love, love, love a good map), so really you can’t ask for much more. imgres-1

Timmy is such a horrid detective that he’s entertaining to no end.  If you’re looking for something to share with your children you should read Timmy. We snagged the next two in the series from the library and I’m looking forward to reading those as well. At this point, we might be fighting over the books like we did with the first one. (Which at first was mine, but now Jack has decided it belongs to him.)

 

Leave a Reply

