Introducing Tommy and Tuppence

I’ve been away for a bit. Vacation without a computer or internet means no blogging. Plus, I know I need to watch last week’s Wayward Pines before the new one tomorrow night. I’ll watch it tonight and blog tomorrow. So, for now I’ll report on another Agatha Christie. (I’m behind in my Christie blogging, so I should get a move on it.)

imgres-1Christie’s second novel was A Secret Adversary which is a Tommy and Tuppence novel. I don’t know if I’ve actually read any Tommy and Tuppence mysteries before. I might have watched one or two movies, but I don’t remember. But, I really enjoyed the book. I really do love Agatha Christie. I love how I was unsure of which direction it was going to go. It was much more about solving a mystery and tracking down a missing girl than a murder. There was a murder at one point, but that murder was just part of the larger goal of finding the missing Jane Finn. Christie does a wonderful job of weaving a story and drawing the reader in. No wonder she has so many fans and everyone loves her. Maybe I should just write a bunch of love letters to Agatha. For this blog I’ve got the first one:images-1

Dear Ms. Christie,

I read your second novel, the first case of Tommy and Tuppence. They are wonderful. I enjoyed the witty banter between them and the fact that they show the excitement of young people. I’m drawn into their world. I want to make sure they’re both safe and that they are both able to enjoy many more adventures–and that Tuppence gets enough money to take herself shopping whenever she wants. I’d love to go shopping with Tuppence. It would be great fun.

Tommy and Tuppence make me think about memory and remembrance. The first of their adventures takes us to a world where if a letter falls into the wrong hands, the whole course of history could change. Others have gone this route and attempted to tell a similar story, and some have done it well, but you do it with a flair for fun and adventure, but still don’t take away from the strong need for telling a story.

I appreciated that you moved away from making the villain someone who is dimwitted and two steps behind the investigator. Instead, you gave me a scenario where the criminal mind is actually an intelligent one and that it’s important to attempt to make the criminal just as smart as the detective in order to make the mystery more inviting and adventurous. It made me want to know what was going to happen and it kept me guessing because I was unsure of whether or not I truly believed who the villain was. I kept saying to myself, “Yes, it has to be______. No, I’m totally wrong, it’s ______.” And I kept going back and forth between a few characters. I love how you made me second guess my detecting skills.

Thank you for giving me Tommy and Tuppence. I’ve found a new love in them and appreciate you even more for them.

Love always,

Me.

The world of Agatha Christie is one of intrigue and excitement. The idea of finding a dead body or being there when someone is murdered, a tight group of people, needing to figure out what happened and who is to blame. For, there is always someone to blame. At times, the person may escape justice, but it is still important to follow along and be part of that world. I feel safer knowing that Poirot and Marple are out there, protecting those of us who need it from those who want to do us harm.

imgresThe first entrance into Poirot is like returning to an old friend. Then, I met Tommy and Tuppence. I’m unsure of my prior relationship with them or why I didn’t seem to want to join their adventures. But, they’re so much fun. I love being there with them and hanging out. They could be a bit younger so they can hang out with Nancy Drew, but they’re still lots of fun.

I’ve got three more Christie’s to blog about and catch up on, as well as another Nancy Drew, so I will be back with them. But, my next post will for sure be about Wayward Pines since I’m missing me some Matt Dillion. Plus, I need to know who those monsters really are. All will be revealed (I don’t believe it).

Leave a Reply

